Manchester City’s Foden, EPL Player of the Year Palmer receives Young Player Award

Manchester City produces Player of the Year for 5 consecutive seasons

Phil Foden named EPL Player of the Year

Manchester City’s Phil Foden was selected as the English Professional Football Premier League (EPL) Player of the Year.

Chelsea’s Cole Palmer won the Young Player Award.

The EPL Secretariat announced on the 18th (Korean time) that Foden was selected as Player of the Season (Player of the Year) for the 2023-2024 season through its official website.

The EPL explained, “Foden, who is only 23 years old, has played a pivotal role for Manchester City this season,” adding, “Man City is just one win away from losing its fourth consecutive league game, the first in EPL history.

He then highlighted his performance, saying, “Foden played in 34 league games this season, scoring 17 goals and 8 assists, and was directly involved in the team’s 25 goals.”

After combining expert and fan votes, Foden was ranked ahead of teammates Erling Haaland (Man City), Martin Odegaard, Declan Rice (Arsenal), Virgil van Dijk (Liverpool), Ollie Watkins (Aston Villa), Palmer, and Alexander Isak ( Newcastle) and won the trophy.

Legendary EPL striker Alan Shearer explained the reason for Foden’s award, saying, “Foden’s performance this season was on a different level. He increased the number of goals and assists. He played a key role in an outstanding team.”

Foden said on Manchester City’s website, “I am very proud to receive this award. The EPL is the best league in the world. It is a joy to be nominated alongside other great players.

Foden, who faithfully filled the void left by Kevin De Bruyne due to injury this season, played both central midfield and wing positions, playing the second most minutes among Manchester City field players.

If Manchester City wins the final match against West Ham, Foden will become the youngest player ever to win the EPL title six times at the age of 23.

Manchester City has produced EPL Player of the Year for five consecutive seasons, including De Bruyne in the 2019-2020 season, Ruben Dias in the 2020-2021 season, De Bruyne in the 2021-2022 season, Erling Haaland in the 2022-2023 season, and Foden in the 2023-2024 season.

Meanwhile, Chelsea’s Palmer won the EPL Young Player Award for the 2023-2024 season.

Born in 2002, Palmer has played in 33 league games this season, scoring 22 goals and providing 10 assists.

He ranks second in scoring after Holland (27 goals), and is tied for second in assists after Watkins (13 assists).

The 32 attack points are the most in the league along with Watkins (19 goals, 13 assists).

There are only four players who have scored 10 goals and 10 assists in the EPL this season: Palmer, Watkins, Muhammad Salah (18 goals, 10 assists, Liverpool), and Anthony Gordon (11 goals, 10 assists, Newcastle).

Palmer, who turned 22 earlier this month, became the third player under the age of 21 to achieve more than 30 attack points in a season, following Robbie Fowler and Chris Sutton.

Since the establishment of the Young Player Award in the 2019-2020 season, Palmer has become the first Chelsea player to receive this award. 스포츠토토

About the Author

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may also like these