Messi, Holland face off again for FIFA Player of the Year

Ballon d’Or succession
Ronaldo is out of the running again

Lionel Messi

Elling Holland

Lionel Messi (Inter Miami) and Elling Holland (Manchester City) 스포츠토토 are expected to

compete for the FIFA World Player of the Year award after the Ballon d’Or.

FIFA announced on Thursday (local time) the nominees for The Best FIFA 2023

Awards, which recognize the year’s best players and leaders in each category.

Messi and Holland are among the 12 nominees for the Men’s Best Player, alongside

Kylian Mbappe (Paris Saint-Germain), 토토 Kevin De Bruyne (Manchester City) and Ilkay

Gundogan (Barcelona). For the second year in a row, Cristiano Ronaldo (Alnasr),

who was not among the 30 nominees for the Ballon d’Or announced earlier today,

is not on the FIFA World Player of the Year shortlist.

The FIFA Men’s World Player of the Year award is likely to be a battle between Messi

and Holland. “Messi, who led Argentina to its first title in 36 years at last year’s World

Cup in Qatar, faces competition from Holland, who led Manchester City to a triple

treble,” said ESPN. Messi has won the award a career-high seven times, including

last year. Holland is seeking his first award. Holland was the top scorer in the English

Premier League last season, netting a record 36 goals in a single season.

The winner is selected by a combination of FIFA member national team coaches

and captains, 스포츠토토링크 media and fan votes.

About the Author

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may also like these